I have learned so much about design and my own style of design over the past year. I am now in my last semester of school and I am revisiting some older projects, one of them being an illustration project.

The purpose of this project was to illustrate a cover and a full spread of a favourite childrens story. I love goodnight moon by Margaret Wise Brown, so the story was an easy choice.

Original i cover by  Clement Hurd

Original cover by Clement Hurd

Here is a sample of my illustrations for the book,

Cover and Spread Illustration design by Jessica Mayer

Cover and Spread Illustration design by Jessica Mayer

Screenshot 2015-02-06 17.07.04

Unfortunately I do not believe I did the story justice with my illustration design. At the time I was trying to heighten my skills in photoshop and took a completely digital approach to the design. I personally do not feel that the style speaks for the rest of my portfolio work, or my own personal taste.

I feel that the typography is not very interesting in the spread, and since it is a childrens book and will most likely be read by children, I feel the type should stand out and by easier to read. I also want a hand drawn feel to the illustrations, so I will be drawing/painting them, and then scanning the illustration in.

I enjoy the depth in the illustrations I did for my first version of the book, but I also want them to feel more inviting.

Here are some illustration styles that I really like from Pinterest,

834ee02703b7e8057b33442441a4eef0 cf83c02bbfa6caff9793917203287d1f fd06c1d7fc296cde0d131d774381c6cb 38e431e60b6afdf061e7b11e5d919eb5 d21f0045ba1a621bef4d173bbabcdfee

I love the color palette for this, very soft and inviting

I love the color palette for this, very soft and inviting

This one mirrors mine the most, I also love it. If I do choose to stay with the darker colors, then I would like to go for a cuter more child-like feel.

This one mirrors mine the most, I also love it. If I do choose to stay with the darker colors, then I would like to go for a cuter more child-like feel.

Lately I have been experimenting with different media, styles, and colors and just having fun drawing and scribbling out drawing after drawing. I get quite nervous showing my illustrations but I have posted some that I find fun, and cute.

A little mouse, original and the other has been slightly photoshopped

A little mouse, original and the other has been slightly photoshopped

illustration_spot

illustration_cover

I need to add more contrast to my illustrations. I have redo this one about 6 times and it still needs more depth. I am using cream crayons, its alot of fun!

I need to add more contrast to my illustrations. I have redo this one about 6 times and it still needs more depth. I am using cream crayons, its alot of fun!

